Icelandic president Olafur Ragnar Grimsson goes for fourth term

Olafur Ragnar Grimsson, the President of Iceland, is going for his fourth term this year. Mr. Grimsson announced his intention to stand in his New Year’s speech broadcast on The Icelandic National Broadcasting Service (RÚV). Mr. Grimsson is Iceland’s 5th president and was first elected in 1996 with 40.8 percent of votes and was then reelected in 2000 and again in 2004.

If he is reelected Mr. Grimsson would be the 3rd president to stay in office for four terms, a total of sixteen years. The other two presidents are Asgeir Asgeirsson and Vigdis Finnbogadottir. Mr. Grimsson is married to Dorrit Moussaieff and has two children from a previous marriage. His first wife, Gudrun Katrin, passed away in 1998.

More can be found about Mr. Grimsson at

Former Presidents of Iceland

  • 1944 -1952 Sveinn Björnsson
  • 1952 -1968 Asgeir Asgeirsson
  • 1968 -1980 Kristjan Eldjarn
  • 1980 -1996 Vigdis Finnbogadottir
  • 1996 – Olafur Ragnar Grimsson