Oslo business for peace award set to honour seven business figures at peace conference

An upcoming peace conference in Oslo, Norway, is set to honour seven business figures with the Oslo Business for Peace Award for their contributions towards the advancement of workplace ethics and social responsibilities.

The seven honourees will be presented with the award during the 2010 Oslo Summit on the 18th October, in the Oslo City Hall, Norway. The summit will focus on the relationship between peace and trade through various presentations, as well as a panel debate.

The 2010 Oslo Summit is co-organised by the Business for Peace Foundation and the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC). Chairman of the ICC World Chambers Federation, Rona Yircali, states, “ICC founders were committed to international cooperation, calling themselves ‘the merchants of peace’. Today we still believe in the vast potential of the private sector to contribute to world peace and are honored and dedicated to support the advancement of the Business for Peace Award, to become the highest form of recognition that can be bestowed upon a person in business.”

The seven honourees for the Oslo Business for Peace Award include, Venkataramani Srivathshan, the Managing Director of Olam Nigera, Francis Yeoh, the managing director of the YTL Corporation Berhad, Ratan Tata, the present Chairman of the Tata group, Stef Wertheimer, the Founder and Honorary Chairman of Iscar Metalworking Company, Emily Cummins, a product designer and developer, William Rosenzweig, the Managing Director of Physic Ventures and Robert Sendra, Chairman of the Board of Grupo Bimbo.

To find out more regarding the Oslo Business for Peace Award and the 2010 Oslo Summit, visit http://www.businessforpeace.no/

Comments are closed.