Iceland women‘s football team qualification hopes

UEFA Womens Euro 2009A point would secure the place of Iceland women‘s football team at UEFA WOMEN’S EURO 2009. Iceland coach Siggy Eyjólfsson knows he is going for victory in the qualification match in France tomorrow.

“My personal feeling is we will win this game. It will not be easy and there is a lot to do in order to reach that goal but we are working on it,” Eyjólfsson said.

Eyjólfsson’s side lead France on head-to-head record in Group 3 thanks to their 1-0 defeat of Les Bleues in Reykjavik last year meaning only a defeat in La Roche-sur-Yon would leave Iceland needing to go through the play-offs, in which they lost to Norway four years ago to miss out on the last finals.

Midfielder Gréta Mjöll Samúelsdóttir is injured so Harpa Thorsteinsdóttir takes her place while Eyjólfsson has also included goalkeeper María Björg Ágústsdóttir as back-up to Thóra Björg Helgadóttir, though they key player is as always Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir, scorer of the only goal conceded by France in qualifying among a competition-leading tally of eleven.

Iceland women‘s national football team is currently ranked as the 18th best national team in the world by FIFA.

Iceland squad

Goalkeepers: María Björg Ágústsdóttir, Thóra Björg Helgadóttir.
Defenders: Katrín Jónsdóttir, Gudrún Sóley Gunnarsdóttir, Ásta Árnadóttir, Ólína Gudbjörg Vidarsdóttir, Embla Sigrídur Grétarsdóttir, Sif Atladóttir.
Midfielder: Edda Gardarsdóttir, Dóra Stefánsdóttir, Katrín Ómarsdóttir, Erla Steina Arnardóttir, Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir, Harpa Thorsteinsdóttir.

Forwards: Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir, Dóra María Lárusdóttir, Rakel Hönnudóttir, Hólmfrídur Magnúsdóttir.

France squad

Goalkeepers: Céline Deville, Bérangère Sapowicz .
Defenders: Sonia Bompastor, Ludivine Diguelman, Sandrine Dusang, Laura Georges, Sabrina Viguier.
Midfielders: Camille Abily, Elise Bussaglia, Alix Faye-Chellali, Corine Franco, Louisa Necib, Sandrine Soubeyrand, Gaëtane Thiney.
Forwards: Sandrine Brétigny, Candie Herbert, Elodie Ramos, Elodie Thomis.