Iceland elections, conclusion

Iceland Elections 2009Twenty seven new people will be entering the Icelandic Parliament, Althingi following yesterday’s elections. Of the 63 elected to Althingi 26 are women, or 43 percent. Eight of those who sought re-election did not get through. Both of the parties in the governing coalition managed to improve their position and the Independence Party lost a big part of their votes since 2007.

Election letter B – Framsóknarflokkurinn (Progressive Party), 27.699 votes or 14.8% and 9 seats (an increase of two)
Election letter D – Sjálfstæðisflokkurinn (Independence Party). 44.369 votes or 23.7% and 16 seats (lost nine MPs)
Election letter F – Frjálslyndi flokkurinn (Liberal Party), 4148 votes or 2.2% and no seats (lost four)
Election letter O – Borgarahreyfingin (Civic Movement), 13.519 votes or 7.2% and 4 seats (brand new party elected for the first time)
Election letter P – Lýðræðishreyfingin (Democracy Movement), 1107 votes or 0.6% and no seats (brand new party running for the first time)
Election letter S – Samfylkingin (Social Democratic Alliance), 55758 votes or 29.8% and 20 seats (two more MPs than last time)
Election letter V – Vinstri Grænir (Left Green Movement), 40.580 votes or 21.7% and 14 seats (gains five more parliamentarians)

Empty ballots counted 6226 or 3.2%, not valid 528 or 0.3% total votes casted were 193.934. Registered voters in Iceland are 227.896 that means that some 85.1% voted yesterday.

Comments are closed.