Faroe Islands: 10th title for B36

Faroe Islands 10th title for B36B36 Torshavn have claimed their 10th Faroe Islands title after a 3-1 away win at already-relegated B68 Toftir.

The champions were able to clinch the title with one game to spare after the win meant HB Torshavn could no longer catch them.

B36 have led the way in the Faroese championship for most of the season and had recently stretched seven points clear of HB, but after two surprising losses saw the gap closed to just a solitary point prior to Sunday’s crunch game. However, with the pressure suddenly on them, they kept their composure to win their first title since 2011.

Things got off to the worst possible start when B68 took the lead in the first minute though Senegalese striker Ibrahima Camara. However, Nigerian forward Adeshina Lawal levelled things up in the 13th minute to settle the nerves, before teeing up Alex Mallemgaard to put the visitors in front in first-half stoppage-time. Then with 20 minutes left on the clock, Klaemint Matras put the game beyond any doubt, much to the delight of the travelling fans.

Captain Jakup Borg described claiming the title as big, adding that he was really moved. Meanwhile, Polish forward Lukasz Cieslewicz said it was a fantastic feeling to achieve something they had been working very hard on, adding that they knew they could do and ultimately they did what they set out to do.