Eurovision final: Iceland in, Finland out

eurovision-norway-little1With tonight’s first Eurovision semifinal over and all 17 songs performed, the judging panels and public telephone voters have had their say.

Only ten of the 17 songs from tonight go through to Saturday’s grand final and Finland and Iceland were the only Nordic countries performing. Denmark and Sweden are in the second semi final on Thursday and Norway qualifies automatically as last year’s winner and this year’s host.

Tonight, Europe voted to send Iceland onward to Saturday evening. But the Finnish team are unfortunately on their way home. The ten advancing countries are announced in random order and this is only the third time Iceland has advanced to the final – and the second time it was the last country out of the winners’ hat.

Click here to watch Iceland’s entry, Je Ne Sais Quoi by Hera Bjork.

Comments are closed.