Greenland government fully formed, goes straight to work

greenland-cabinetGreenland’s new IA, Demokraatik and KP coalition government has announced its ministerial line-up and the new parliament sat for the first time yesterday.

The nine-person cabinet will be made up of five men and four women. The Family and Health Ministry has been split in two and a new Interior Ministry has been created, Sermitsiaq reports. There were previously only eight ministries, but now there are nine.

IA’s Kuupik Kleist has been confirmed as Premier, and will also take responsibility for foreign affairs, which was previously incorporated with finance.

Kleist said he hopes the government’s 2009-2013 political agenda is equally relevant for the entire nation as it is for the coalition parties.

Kleist acknowledged that his government’s concentration on three core values connected to life in general and humanity are unusual as a political platform, but said it just seemed natural: “The bottom line is that we work and live in mutual respect and in solidarity,” he said.

Sermitsiaq reports the ministries will be divided as follows:

Premier: Kuupik Kleist, Inuit Ataqatigiit (IA) (encompassing foreign affairs)

Fishing, Hunting and Agriculture Ministry: Anne Hansen, Inuit Ataqatigiit

Finance Ministry: Palle Christiansen, Demokraatit

Commerce and Raw Materials Ministry: Ove Karl Berthelsen, Inuit Ataqatigiit

Housing, Infrastructure and Transport Ministry: Jens B Frederiksen (and deputy premier), Demokraatit

Culture, Education, Research and Church Ministry: Mimi Karlsen, Inuit Ataqatigiit

Health Minister: Agathe Fontain, Inuit Ataqatigiit

Family Minister: Maliina Abelsen, Inuit Ataqatigiit

Interior Minister: Anthon Frederiksen, Kattusseqatigiit Partiiat (KP)

(Photo of new Greenlandic cabinet ministers: Jukku Noahsen)

Comments are closed.